Defenses 2024

 

On this page, you can find a list of the defense slots in June, July and August 2024.

For each of these slots, one of the members of the Examinations Board has volunteered to chair a defense. Dates that are greyed out do not have any defense slots; note that there are no defense slots between 15 July and 21 August.

This page will be updated when slots are booked for defenses, showing the name of the student and the supervisor(s) as an indication that the slot is no longer available.

As soon as a candidate and a supervisor have agreed on a graduation date and picked one of the available slots in June or July, the supervisor should contact the MoL team and request a booking of this slot. If it is still available, they will reserve the slot and the slot determines:

  1. the chair of the committee
  2. the deadline for the student to hand in the thesis (viz. 21 days before the defense).

 

Please noteThe slots in the last week of August are mostly reserved for students who are not able to defend in June/July or in September.

In case the defense should take place in the last week of August, the supervisor should add a motivation to the request to book the slot. The chair of the Examinations Board will decide whether the reasons are pressing enough to assign an August slot.

You have to book a slot for your defense at the latest one month before the defense date, i.e., in order to book the defense slot on 27 June, you need to book it before 27 May. The slots will be reserved on a first-come, first-served basis.

After a slot is assigned, it is the responsibility of the supervisor to contact the chair of the committee to discuss the composition of the committee. 

The defense committee

 

Week Date Time slot Availability / Names
26 Tue 25 Jun 11-13

Chair: Gattinger

15-17

Ludovico Deponte

Chair: Ten Cate

Supervisor: Giovanni Cina

Wed 26 Jun 11-13 Chair: Gattinger
13-15

Chair: Ten Cate

Thu 27 Jun 11-13 Chair: Gattinger
13-15 Chair: Ten Cate
Fri 28 Jun 11-13 Chair: Gattinger
27 Mon 1 Jul 11-13 Chair: Gattinger
13-15 Chair: Gattinger
Tue 2 Jul 11-13 Chair: Ten Cate
13-15 Chair: Ten Cate
Wed 3 Jul 11-13 Chair: Ten Cate
13-15

Chair: Ten Cate

Thu 4 Jul 11-13

Chair: Gattinger

13-15

Daan Schoneveld

Chair: Gattinger

Supervisor: Ronald de Haan & Stacey Jeffery

28 Mon 8 Jul 11-13 Chair: Özgün
13-15 Chair: Özgün
Tue 9 Jul 11-13 Chair: Özgün
13-15

Chair: Özgün

Wed 10 Jul 11-13 Chair: Ten Cate
13-15 Chair: Ten Cate
15-17 Chair: Ten Cate
Thu 11 Jul 11-13 Chair: Van den Berg
13-15 Chair: Özgün
Fri 12 Jul 11-13 Chair: Van den Berg
13-15 Chair: Özgün
29 15-19 Jul  
30 22-26 Jul  
31 29 Jul-2 Aug  
32 5-9 Aug  
33 12-16 Aug  
34 Wed 21 Aug 11-13 Chair: Van den Berg
13-15 Chair: Aloni
15-17 Chair: Aloni
Thu 22 Aug 11-13 Chair: Aloni
13-15 Chair: Van den Berg
15-17 Chair: Van den Berg
Fri 23 Aug 11-13

Chair: Van den Berg

13-15 Chair: Aloni
15-17 Chair: Aloni
35 Mon 26 Aug 11-13

Ștefan Zotescu

Chair: Aloni

Supervisor: Sonja Smets & Aybüke Özgün

13-15

Brendan Dufty

Chair: Van den Berg

Supervisor: Nick Bezhanishvili

15-17 Chair: Van den Berg
Tue 27 Aug 11-13

Xiaoshuang Yang

Chair: Van den Berg

Supervisor: Malvin Gattinger

13-15 Chair: Aloni
15-17

Chair: Aloni

Wed 28 Aug 11-13 Chair: Shutova
13-15 Chair: Shutova
15-17 Chair: Shutova
Thu 29 Aug 11-13 Chair: Shutova
13-15 Chair: Shutova
15-17 Chair: Shutova
Fri 30 Aug 11-13 Chair: Shutova
13-15 Chair: Shutova
15-17 Chair: Shutova