UvA Scholarships

There are three scholarships handled as part of the admissions process: the AMS, the ASTS, and the E W Beth Scholarship.

Please note that only a very small number of our students will get one of these scholarships (usually two to three per year) and many deserving candidates do not. Please note, too,  that Logic Year students do not qualify for being granted a scholarship, because the Logic Year is not a degree programme.

If you wish to apply to one or more of these scholarships, please check the appropriate box in the application form and include a paragraph in your motivation letter in which you explain why you wish to be nominated for the specific scholarship.

Applicants who wish to be considered for one of these scholarships must have their applications completed by the earlier deadline of 15 January, independent of their country of origin.

  • Amsterdam Merit Scholarship (AMS)

    The Amsterdam Merit Scholarship programme aims at attracting the world's brightest students to the University of Amsterdam. For more info, please visit the Amsterdam Merit Scholarship page.

    • Awarded by the Faculty of Science, UvA.
    • Established. 2007.
    • Funding. One year, plus possible extension for a second year.
    • Eligibility. Applicants from outside the European Economic Area (EEA).
  • Amsterdam Science Talent Scholarship (ASTS)

    The ASTS is aimed at talented students from the European Union/European Economic Area who choose to do a Science Master's programme.  Please go to the website of the Amsterdam Science Talent Scholarship for more information.

    • Awarded by the Faculty of Science, UvA.
    • Funding. Full scholarship for a maximum of two academic years covering tuition fees and part of the living expenses.
    • Eligibility. Applicants from the European Economic Area (EEA).
  • E W Beth Scholarship

    The E W Beth Foundation has been generously supporting the Master of Logic in the form of the Beth Scholarship since 2003. Outstanding logic students with broad interests can apply for this scholarship. Many of the Beth alumni have started successful research careers. Click here to see a list of our Beth Scholars.

    • Awarded by the Evert Willem Beth Foundation.
    • Established. 2003.
    • Funding. Scholarship for one year; re-application for a second year is possible.
    • Eligibility. All applicants for the M.Sc. in Logic.