Defense Schedule Summer 2019

On this page, you can find a list of the defense slots in June and July 2019.
There will be several available defense slots in the last week of August (26-30 August). These will become available at the end of May.

For each of these slots, one of the members of the Examinations Board has volunteered to chair a defense. Dates that are greyed out do not have any defense slots; note that there are no defense slots between 15 July and 26 August.

This page will be updated when slots are booked for defenses, showing the name of the student and the supervisor as an indication that the slot is no longer available.

As soon as a candidate and a supervisor have agreed on a graduation date and picked one of the available slots in June or July, the supervisor should contact Tanja Kassenaar and request a booking of this slot. If it is still available, Tanja will reserve the slot and the slot determines:

  1. the chair of the committee
  2. the deadline for the student to hand in the thesis (viz. 21 days before the defense).


Please note: The slots in the last week of August are reserved for students who really are not able to defend in June/July or in September.

In case the defense should take place in the last week of August, the supervisor should add a motivation to the request to book the slot. The chair of the Examinations Board will decide whether the reasons are pressing enough to assign an August slot.

You have to book a slot for your defense at the latest one month before the defense date, i.e., in order to book the defense slot on 11 June, you need to book it until 11 May. The slots will be reserved on a first-come, first-served basis.

After a slot is assigned, the chair of the committee and the supervisor get in touch to discuss the composition of the committee. 

The defense committee


Week Date Time slot Availability / Names
25 Mon 17 June  
Tue 18 June  
Wed 19 June 10-12 Nuno Mendes Da Silva Maia
chair: Dekker
supervisor: Incurvati
Thu 20 June 11-13 chair: Roelofsen
14-16 chair: Roelofsen
Fri 21 June 11-13 chair: Roelofsen
14-16 chair: Roelofsen
26 Mon 24 June 11-13 chair: Roelofsen
Tue 25 June  
Wed 26 June 10-12 Wouter Posdijk
chair: Dekker
supervisor: Steintert-Threlkeld
Thu 27 June  
Fri 28 June 11-13 chair: De Wolf
14-16 chair: De Wolf
27 Mon 1 July 12-14 Ho-Yin Lui
De Wolf
supervisor: Van Rooij
15-17 chair: De Wolf
Tue 2 July 10-12

Tim Henke
chair: Venema
supervisor: Bezhanishvili

12-14 Sam Adam-Day
14-16 chair: Venema
Wed 3 July 10-12 Yvette Oortwijn
chair: Dekker
supervisor: Incurvati
14-16 Mina Young Pedersen
chair: Dekker
supervisor: Smets
Thu 4 July 10-12 Bas van den Heuvel
chair: Venema
supervisors: Perez, Ponse
12-14 Gaia Belardinelli
chair: Roelofsen
supervisor: Baltag

Anna Franchini
supervisors: Van Lambalgen, Grilletti

Fri 5 July 10-12 David Santamaria
supervisor: Incurvati

Zhuoye Zhao
chair: De Wolf
supervisors: Aloni, Cremers 

15-17 Nicolo Zamperlin
De Wolf
supervsors: Van Rooij, Carrara
28 Mon 8 July  
Tue 9 July  
Wed 10 July 10-12 chair: Dekker
14-16 Tomislav Karacic
chair: Dekker
supervisor: Russo
Thu 11 July  
Fri 12 July 10-12 Marco Degano
supervisor: Aloni
29 15-19 July  
30 22–26 July  
31 29 July–2 August  
32 6–10 August  
33 13–17 August  
34 19-24 August  
35 Mon 26 August 10-12 chair: Venema
12-14 chair: De Wolf
15-17 chair: De Wolf
Tue 27 August 10-12 chair: Venema
12-14 Matteo Ferrari
supervisors: Aloni, Dekker
15-17 chair: Shutova
Wed 28 August 10-12 chair: Shutova
12-14 chair: Deoskar
14-16 chair: Shutova
Thu 29 August 10-12 chair: Venema
12-14 chair: Shutova
15-17 chair: Shutova
Fri 30 August 10-12 chair: Venema
12-14 Michael Vollmer
chair: Shutova
supervisor: Hawke
15-17 Robin Martinot
chair: Shutova
supervisor: Incurvati

The websites of the UvA make use of cookiesThis site uses cookies More informationMore info Hide this message XHide X