Defense Schedule Summer 2018


On this page, you can find a list of the defense slots in the months of June, July and August 2018. For each of these slots, one of the members of the Examinations Board has volunteered to chair a defense. Dates that are greyed out do not have any defense slots; note that there are no defense slots between 16 July and 27 August. This page will be updated when slots are booked for defenses, showing the name of the student and the supervisor as an indication that that slot is not available anymore. Note that if a slot is shown as available on this page, it might be that the page has not been updated.

As soon as a candidate and a supervisor have agreed on a graduation date and picked one of the available slots, the supervisor should contact Sietske van der Pol and request a booking of this slot. If it is still available, Sietske will reserve the slot and the slot determines

  1. the chair of the committee,<
  2. the deadline for the student to hand in the thesis (viz. 21 days before the defense).

After this, the chair of the committee and the supervisor get in touch to discuss the composition of the committee. You have to book a slot for your defense at the latest one month before the defense date, i.e., in order to book the defense slot on 11 June, you need to book it until 11 May. The slots will be reserved on a first-come-first-served basis.

Week Date Time slot Availability / Names
24 Mon 11 June 16–18 Max van den Broek
Chair: Venema
Supervisors: Smets, Velázquez Quesada
Tue 12 June  
Wed 13 June  
Thu 14 June  
Fri 15 June  
25 Mon 18 June 12-14

Laura Molenaar
Chair: Schulz.
Supervisors: Maat, Betti.

 15-17 Krzysztof Mierzewski
Chair: Roelofsen.
Supervisor: Baltag.
Tue 19 June 11-13 Jeroen van Wier
Chair: Venema.
Supervisors: Schaffner, Majenz.
Wed 20 June  
Thu 21 June  
Fri 22 June  
26 Mon 25 June  
Tue 26 June 11-13  
Wed 27 June    
Thu 28 June 11-13 Matteo Nizzardo
Chair: Deoskar.
14-16 Ethan Lewis
Chair: Deoskar.
Supervisors: Löwe, Galeotti.
16-18 Robert Paßmann
Chair: Roelofsen.
Supervisor: Löwe.
Fri 29 June 12-14  
11-13 Jorge Viterbo Ferreira
Chair: Schulz.
Supervisors: Berto, Incurvati.
27 Mon 2 July  
Tue 3 July 11-13 Yujie Xing
Chair: Deoskar.
Supervisor: Fernandez.
Wed 4 July 11-13  
14-16 Heidi Metzler
Chair: Roelofsen.
Supervisor: Torenvliet.
Thu 5 July 10-12 Grzegorz Lisowski
Chair: Venema.
Supervisors: Grandi, Smets.
Fri 6 July 9-11  
11-13 Silvan Hungerbühler
Chair: Schulz.
Supervisor: Betti.
28 Mon 9 July 11-13 Raja Damanik
Chair: de Wolf.
Supervisor: Walter.
 13-15  Mathijs Mul
Chair: Venema
Supervisor: Zuidema
Tue 10 July  
Wed 11 July  
Thu 12 July  14-16 Noor Heerkens
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisor: de Jongh.
16-18 Leon Commandeur
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisor: Lipman.
Fri 13 July 14-16 Jelle Don
Chair: de Wolf.
Supervisors: Schaffner, Majenz.
29 Mon 16 July  
Tue 17 July  
Wed 18 July  
Thu 19 July  
Fri 20 July 16-18

Stefania Ionescu
Chair: de Wolf.
Supervisors: Kamps, Bredeweg.

30 23–27 July  
31 30 July–3 August  
32 6–10 August  
33 13–17 August  
34 20, 21 August  
Wed 22 August 11-13 Tao Gu
Chair: De Wolf
Supervisor: Van den Berg
23, 24 August  
35 Mon 27 August 11-13 Morwenna Hoeks
Chair: De Wolf.
 14-16 Marvin Schmitt
Chair: de Wolf.
Supervisors: Cremer, Dotlačil.
Tue 28 August 11-13 Haukur Páll Jónsson
Chair: de Wolf.
Supervisors: Szymanik, van Harmelen.
14-16 Hana Möller Kalpak
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisor: Roelofsen.
Wed 29 August 11-13 Krsto Prorokovic
Chair: Roelofsen
Supervisors: Bruni, Titov
Thu 30 August 11-13 Mrinalini Luthra
Chair: Löwe.
16-18 Julia Turska
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisor: Stokhof.
Fri 31 August  11-13 Jonathan Pesetsky
Chair: Schulz
Supervisor: Roelofsen
37 Wed 12 September  14-16

Marlou Gijzen
Chair: Roelofsen
Supervisors: Torenvliet, Van den Berg

38 Mon 17 September  14-16 Dean McHugh
Chair: Venema
Supervisor: Schulz

The websites of the UvA make use of cookiesThis site uses cookies More informationMore info Hide this message XHide X