Defense Schedule Summer 2018

 

On this page, you can find a list of the defense slots in the months of June, July and August 2018. For each of these slots, one of the members of the Examinations Board has volunteered to chair a defense. Dates that are greyed out do not have any defense slots; note that there are no defense slots between 16 July and 27 August. This page will be updated when slots are booked for defenses, showing the name of the student and the supervisor as an indication that that slot is not available anymore. Note that if a slot is shown as available on this page, it might be that the page has not been updated.

As soon as a candidate and a supervisor have agreed on a graduation date and picked one of the available slots, the supervisor should contact Sietske van der Pol and request a booking of this slot. If it is still available, Sietske will reserve the slot and the slot determines

  1. the chair of the committee,<
  2. the deadline for the student to hand in the thesis (viz. 21 days before the defense).

After this, the chair of the committee and the supervisor get in touch to discuss the composition of the committee. You have to book a slot for your defense at the latest one month before the defense date, i.e., in order to book the defense slot on 11 June, you need to book it until 11 May. The slots will be reserved on a first-come-first-served basis.

Week Date Time slot Availability / Names
24 Monday 11 June 2018 16–18 Max van den Broek
Chair: Venema
Supervisors: Smets, Velázquez Quesada
Tuesday 12 June 2018  
Wednesday 13 June 2018  
Thursday 14 June 2018  
Friday 15 June 2018  
25 Monday 18 June 2018 12-14

Laura Molenaar
Chair: Schulz.
Supervisors: Maat, Betti.

 15-17 Krzysztof Mierzewski
Chair: Roelofsen.
Supervisor: Baltag.
Tuesday 19 June 2018 11-13 Jeroen van Wier
Chair: Venema.
Supervisors: Schaffner, Majenz.
Wednesday 20 June 2018  
Thursday 21 June 2018  
Friday 22 June 2018  
26 Monday 25 June 2018  
Tuesday 26 June 2018 11-13 available
14-16 available
16-18 available
Wednesday 27 June 2018    
14-16 available
16-18 available
Thursday 28 June 2018 11-13 Matteo Nizzardo
Chair: Deoskar.
Supervisor:
Berto.
14-16 Ethan Lewis
Chair: Deoskar.
Supervisors: Löwe, Galeotti.
16-18 Robert Paßmann
Chair: Roelofsen.
Supervisor: Löwe.
Friday 29 June 2018 12-14  
11-13 Jorge Viterbo Ferreira
Chair: Schulz.
Supervisors: Berto, Incurvati.
27 Monday 2 July 2018  
Tuesday 3 July 2018 11-13 Yujie Xing
Chair: Deoskar.
Supervisor: Fernandez.
14-16  
16-18  
Wednesday 4 July 2018 11-13 Dean McHugh
Chair:
Venema.
Supervisor:
Schulz.
14-16 Heidi Metzler
Chair: Roelofsen.
Supervisor: Torenvliet.
Thursday 5 July 2018 10-12 Grzegorz Lisowski
Chair: Venema.
Supervisors: Grandi, Smets.
Friday 6 July 2018 9-11 available
11-13 Silvan Hungerbühler
Chair: Schulz.
Supervisor: Betti.
28 Monday 9 July 2018 11-13 Raja Damanik
Chair: de Wolf.
Supervisor: Walter.
 13-15  Mathijs Mul
Chair: Venema
Supervisor: Zuidema
Tuesday 10 July 2018  
Wednesday 11 July 2018  
Thursday 12 July 2018  14-16 Noor Heerkens
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisor: de Jongh.
16-18 Leon Commandeur
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisor: Lipman.
Friday 13 July 2018 14-16 Jelle Don
Chair: de Wolf.
Supervisors: Schaffner, Majenz.
29 Monday 16 July 2018  
Tuesday 17 July 2018  
Wednesday 18 July 2018  
Thursday 19 July 2018  
Friday 20 July 2018 16-18

Stefania Ionescu
Chair: de Wolf.
Supervisors: Kamps, Bredeweg.

30 23–27 July 2018  
31 30 July–3 August 2018  
32 6–10 August 2018  
33 13–17 August 2018  
34 Wednesday 22 August 2018 11-13 Tao Gu
Chair: De Wolf
Supervisor: Van den Berg
34 20, 21, 23, 24 August 2018  
35 Monday 27 August 2018 11-13 Morwenna Hoeks
Chair: De Wolf.
Supervisor:
Roelofsen.
 14-16 Marvin Schmitt
Chair: de Wolf.
Supervisors: Cremer, Dotlačil.
Tuesday 28 August 2018 11-13 Haukur Páll Jónsson
Chair: de Wolf.
Supervisors: Szymanik, van Harmelen.
14-16 Hana Möller Kalpak
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisor: Roelofsen.
Wednesday 29 August 2018 11-13 Krsto Prorokovic
Chair: Roelofsen
Supervisors: Bruni, Titov
14-16  Max Bohnet
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisors: Incurvati, Nicolai.
16-18 Gaia Belardinelli
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisor: Baltag.
Thursday 30 August 2018 11-13 Mrinalini Luthra
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisors:
Stokhof.
14-16 Max Rapp
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisors:
Smets, Velázquez Quesada.
16-18 Julia Turska
Chair: Löwe.
Supervisor: Stokhof.
Friday 31 August 2018  11-13 Jonathan Pesetsky
Chair: Schulz
Supervisor: Roelofsen
Wednesday 12 September  14-16

Marlou Gijzen
Chair: Roelofsen
Supervisors: Torenvliet, Van den Berg

 16-18 Jan Rooduijn
Chair: Roelofsen
Supervisor: Van den Berg

The websites of the UvA make use of cookiesThis site uses cookies More informationMore info Hide this message XHide X